Celexa

My new medication.

Listed under the Selective Serotonin Reuptake Inhibitor field of antidepressants, this new drug I am taking is designed to curb anxiety and major depressive disorders. My doctor tells me that I am going to feel heavier side-effects before results (which could take weeks), and that I may have to increase my intake from twenty milligrams a day to forty after about two weeks if no results are noticed.

My doctor drew a fine line between the two possible side-effects: extreme irritation or sedation. I hope it’s the latter: I took my first pill about an hour and a half ago.

Tonight is the first night of Chanukkah. Though I slept past sundown, I think I’ll be lighting a candle tonight before I fall asleep. This is the first time I have been on a medication since March, and I will be a little more experimental and patient with this one.

Laila Tov

Leave a Reply

